BOOK REVIEWS OF THE UNFOLDING OF A ROSE BY MAMIE SMITH


CookiesKids

 

Anonymous

How the disciples of Christian Science cope with fatal illness.

 Reader Rating 

MamieSmithCover

Posted August 29, 2008, 2:45 AM EST: I am always curious about the principles of Christian Science and wonder how the disciples of Christian Science would cope physically and psychologically when they themselves and their loved ones are struck by the fatal illness such as cancer. As one of the Christian Science people Mamie L. Smith shed light on the uniqueness of her faith to the readers of her book, THE UNFOLDING OF A ROSE, by explaining how her faith in Christian Science sustains her through her hardship and sadness of losing her daughter to cancer. After Meta, her daughter, passed away she picks up pieces of their business and continue on. Smith is an educator and a businesswoman and she neither claims that she is a scholar in Christian Science nor a professional writer. Yet this book is worth reading as a well composed case study of Christian Science belief and practice. My dear Mamie Smith, I am glad I read your book!

Was this review helpful? YesNo

permalink

Anonymous

A reviewer

 Reader Rating 

Posted June 17, 2008, 10:53 AM EST: Mamie L. Smith in her book ‘The Unfolding of A Rose’ opened my eyes to the weakness in my faith and to the strength, courage and grace shown by the author. The author lost her beautiful Rose while she was in full bloom but Meta’s grace and courage lingers like perfumed air.

A Reader of The Unfolding of a Rose

Good morning Mamie:
Thank you for your kind words of encouragement. I am certain you were
personally healed while writing about “The Unfolding of A Rose”, because I
was healed while reading it, as I am sure other readers will experience as
well! This writing made me cry, laugh, gave me joy and hope. Your daughter
gave so much of herself while servicing her clients (family and friends). I
have yet to find a salesperson such as Meta’s lovely spirit. I am still
wearing so many of the beautiful accessories (earrings, dresses, suits,
coats and hats) that Meta sought out for my personal use. Compliments and
admirations have not ceased on the purchases that I utilize that Meta
selected for me with her savvy eye for fashion; and, I will never forget the
wonderful conversations, kindness and love that she showed to me during our
relationship. Keep hope alive in your writings and please know that Meta
will never be forgotten. In my opinion, this book is a success! Give my
regards to your Granddaughter! May God continue to bless you and yours.
Love always!

P.S. Happy Belated Birthday. We share the same date – – October 19th. I
am blessed to have turned 60 years old, in good health, saved, sanctified
and filled with the Holy Ghost. Let’s give God the Glory for the gift of
continued life. Love back!

